Tracking Stuff in Mobile

Daily news and opinion for 250,000 industry executives and mobile fanatics.

The orange-register.net phishing scam

orange-register

orange-register
Originally uploaded by ew4n.

Click the link from the email and you’re immediately taken to http://secure.orange-register.net.

Looks official enough.

Then you’re prompted to fill in your personal details — including how long you’ve lived at your current address and your credit/debit card details.

Should you mistakenly assume this was an official Orange communication, you’d then be giving the scammer absolutely everything they need to raid your bank account and effectively pose as you.

Of course these scams aren’t new. They’re well used spoofing any number of banks and credit card companies. However this one is particularly well done. The links to ‘contact us’, ‘terms & conditions’ and ‘acceptable use policy’ all link dirctly back to the Orange site — as does the Orange logo and the ‘home’ link!

The trouble with this sort of thing — and the reason it does work for the scammers — is that it looks genuine. Very genuine. A standard internet user would have trouble telling the difference. I did — I noticed it said ’secure’ but was running on a standard http protocol.

Email This Post Email This Post

On this day..

Clickatell SMS Gateway

About SMS Text News

Your hub for mobile news blogged by Ewan MacLeod and his team of fanatics. Put this in your feed reader and have a scan every now and then to track what's cooking around the world.

More About SMS Text News

Copyright © 2008 SMS Text News / Tollejo Media Group Web Design by Forty